neue Gesellschaft
für bildende Kunst

1Tuesday, 01 December 2020Tuesday, 01. December 2020
Besuch: Visit: station urbaner kulturen and archive
1Monday, 01 February 2021Monday, 01. February 2021
Forschung: Research project: Die Pampa lebt
27Friday, 27 August 2021Friday, 27. August 2021, 18:00 – 21:00
Soft Opening: Soft Opening: Exhibition »Gemeinsame Räume offenhalten«
18Saturday, 18 September 2021Saturday, 18. September 2021, 16:00 – 20:00
Soft Opening: Soft Opening: Exhibition
19Sunday, 19 September 2021Sunday, 19. September 2021, 14:00 – 18:00
Ausstellung: Exhibition: open as part of Berlin Art Week
Exhibition

Exhibition: »Neues Deutschland« with Akinbode Akinbiyi and Elske Rosenfeld

Sunday, 19 September 2021 — Saturday, 04 December 2021

»Neues Deutschland« with Akinbode Akinbiyi and Elske Rosenfeld

Address:station urbaner kulturen, Auerbacher Ring 41, 12619 Berlin (Entrance: Kastanienboulevard, next to Lebenshilfe e.V.)
Open: Thu + Sat 15:00-19:00
Language(s): 
  • German
  • English

Entry: free
Organized by: neue Gesellschaft für bildende Kunst
save date

»Neues Deutschland« with Akinbode Akinbiyi and Elske Rosenfeld

The exhibition will be closed on Saturday, 20 November 2021.

In the exhibition, the artists Akinbode Akinbiyi and Elske Rosenfeld deal with perspectives on and from Germany, as well as with images about feeling at home in today's Germany.

The title »Neues Deutschland« (»New Germany«) refers to daily life in Hellersdorf in Berlin’s east, where the exhibition is located. Here, developments following the push for »reunification«, as well as internationalisation due to new residents, have created an entirely different reality to the one imagined to exist in Berlin’s centre. The exhibition title also quotes the name of the (post)-Stalinist »central news organ of the Socialist Unity Party of Germany (SED)«, a newspaper that continues to exist today as ND and is affiliated with the party Die Linke. The use of the programmatic title »Neues Deutschland« for the exhibition, however, draws on German communists’ historical aim to create an antifascist, socialist, and fundamentally different Germany. ND’s predecessor was an exiled magazine that appeared in Mexico between 1942/43 as Alemania Libre (Free Germany) and from January 1945 as Nueva Alemania (New Germany). Drawing on this legacy, the exhibition looks towards perspectives arising today from new constellations created by exile, liberation and migration.

Angela Davis studied in 1965 with Theodor W. Adorno in Frankfurt, where she joined the SDS (Socialist German Student League) and took part in protest actions against the Vietnam War. In June 1968 she became a member of the Communist Party USA. Following her imprisonment there, countless solidarity campaigns were organised in her support in the German Democratic Republic (GDR), as well as in other socialist countries in Eastern Europe. The TIME magazine used the words »Angelamania« (1972) to describe the jubilation in the GDR when, following her release, Angela Davis publicly appeared at Schönefeld Airport and later at the 10
th World Youth Festival in Berlin, wedged between elite state officials and enthused young people from the liberation movement.

Born in Halle, artist Elske Rosenfeld’s multimedia installation commemorates the dissident Erika Berthold. During one such public appearance, breaking away from the crowd’s inhibited over-identification with the star, Erika Berthold spontaneously hugged Angela Davis: an act of »friendship between peoples« that deviated from the state-socialist script. While the GDR advertised itself as an anti-racist state and integrated Angela Davis into its iconography, in everyday racism was also present there. Here, Rosenfeld’s contribution, which was created for the Dresden exhibition »1 Million Roses for Angela Davis«, is shown in the station urbaner kulturen in combination with photos from the series »Rote Fahne, DDR« (2011-2021): Fabrics, staged in post-GDR landscapes, which are now offered for sale on online platforms. 

Artist and writer Elske Rosenfeld (*1974) researches the relationship between the body and language during revolutionary incidents, the history of 1989/90, and forms of dissidence. Parallel to this exhibition, her works will be on view at the nGbK in Kreuzberg as part of the exhibition »…oder kann das weg? Fallstudien zur Nachwende«. In 2018, Rosenfeld co-directed the project »Artistic Research in the Archive of the GDR-Opposition« together with Suza Husse/District Berlin.

Photographer Akinbode Akinbiyi was born in 1946 in Oxford, England, and moves between the metropolises of Berlin, Lagos, and further afield. He studied literature and English studies in Ibadan, Lancaster, and Heidelberg and has lived in Berlin as a photographer and curator for decades. In 2016, he won the renowned Weimar ›Goethe-Medaille‹.
His practice, which involves analogue street photography taken during urban wanderings, has led to versatile series and works capturing individual observations. His works have been prominently exhibited, including in the most recent documenta 14 in Kassel and Athens (2017), at Martin Gropius Bau in Berlin (2020), as well as at countless festivals internationally. For this exhibition, Akinbiyi will use a medium-format camera to document his way from the former Stalinallee via his current home in Frankfurter Allee to Hellersdorf and beyond, and will set the results in relation to his photographs from cities in other parts of the world.

By bringing together these two artistic positions, the exhibition offers opportunity to reflect on the meaning of the internationalist history of the GDR, and the relation it bears to cosmopolitan hopes in Germany today. What kinds of new frictions, what new constellations inform artistic contributions, and how is everyday life – long characterised by diversity – on the city’s peripheries to be grasped?


nGbK project group station urbaner kulturenJuan Camilo Alfonso Angulo, Jochen Becker, Fabian Bovens, Eva Hertzsch, Margarete Kiss, Constanze Musterer, Adam Page

 

station urbaner kulturen/ nGbK Hellersdorf is part of the initiative Urbane Praxis.



Funded by the Senate Department for Culture and Europe as part of ›Draussenstadt‹

  


Partner of Berlin Art Week

      

Publication

  
ISBN:

Further Dates

1Tuesday, 01 December 2020Tuesday, 01. December 2020
Besuch: Visit: station urbaner kulturen and archive
1Monday, 01 February 2021Monday, 01. February 2021
Forschung: Research project: Die Pampa lebt
27Friday, 27 August 2021Friday, 27. August 2021, 18:00 – 21:00
Soft Opening: Soft Opening: Exhibition »Gemeinsame Räume offenhalten«
18Saturday, 18 September 2021Saturday, 18. September 2021, 16:00 – 20:00
Soft Opening: Soft Opening: Exhibition
19Sunday, 19 September 2021Sunday, 19. September 2021, 14:00 – 18:00
Ausstellung: Exhibition: open as part of Berlin Art Week

neue Gesellschaft
für bildende Kunst

1Dienstag, 01 Dezember 2020Dienstag, 01. Dezember 2020
Besuch: Visit: station urbaner kulturen und Archiv
1Montag, 01 Februar 2021Montag, 01. Februar 2021
Forschung: Research project: Die Pampa lebt
27Freitag, 27 August 2021Freitag, 27. August 2021, 18:00 Uhr – 21:00 Uhr
Soft Opening: Soft Opening: Ausstellung »Gemeinsame Räume offenhalten«
18Samstag, 18 September 2021Samstag, 18. September 2021, 16:00 Uhr – 20:00 Uhr
Soft Opening: Soft Opening: Ausstellung
19Sonntag, 19 September 2021Sonntag, 19. September 2021, 14:00 Uhr – 18:00 Uhr
Ausstellung: Exhibition: geöffnet zur Berlin Art Week
Ausstellung

Ausstellung: »Neues Deutschland« mit Akinbode Akinbiyi und Elske Rosenfeld

Sonntag, 19. September 2021 — Samstag, 04. Dezember 2021

»Neues Deutschland« mit Akinbode Akinbiyi und Elske Rosenfeld

Adresse: station urbaner kulturen, Auerbacher Ring 41, 12619 Berlin (Eingang Kastanienboulevard, neben Lebenshilfe e.V.)
Geöffnet:Do+Sa 15-19 Uhr
Sprache(n): 
  • Deutsch
  • Englisch

Eintritt: frei
Veranstalter_in: neue Gesellschaft für bildende Kunst
save date

»Neues Deutschland« mit Akinbode Akinbiyi und Elske Rosenfeld

Die Ausstellung ist am Samstag, 20. November 2021 geschlossen.

Die Künstler_innen Akinbode Akinbiyi und Elske Rosenfeld beschäftigen sich in der Ausstellung mit Perspektiven aus und auf Deutschland, sowie mit Bildern der Beheimatung, die das heutige Deutschland prägen.

Der Ausstellungstitel »Neues Deutschland« stellt gelebten Alltag am Ausstellungsort in Hellersdorf dar: Die von Dynamiken und Zwängen gezeichnete Bewegung  hin zur »wiedervereinigten« Bundesrepublik und die Internationalisierung durch Neuzugezogene, treffen am Stadtrand auf eine ganz andere Art und Weise zu, wie es zum Beispiel in der Mitte Berlins der Fall ist.
Zudem ist der Titel ein Verweis auf das (post)stalinistische »Zentralorgan der Sozialistischen Einheitspartei Deutschlands« (SED), welches als parteinahe Zeitung Der Linken bis heute existiert. Der programmatische Name Neues Deutschland (ND) geht hingegen auf die damalige Bestrebung deutscher Kommunist_innen zurück, ein antifaschistisches und sozialistisches, also ein anderes Deutschland aufzubauen. Das ND steht in der Nachfolge einer Exil-Zeitung, welche 1942/43 als Alemania Libre (Freies Deutschland) und ab Januar 1945 als Nueva Alemania (Neues Deutschland) in Mexiko erschienen ist. Auf diese Weise verbindet die Ausstellung eine historische Freilegung mit der Frage, welche sozialen Perspektiven in heutigen Konstellationen zwischen Exil, Befreiung und Migration entstehen können.

1965 studierte die spätere Black Power-Aktivistin Angela Davis bei dem Philosophen Theodor W. Adorno in Frankfurt am Main. Dort schloss sie sich dem SDS (Sozialistischer Deutscher Studentenbund) an und nahm an verschiedenen Protestaktionen gegen den Vietnamkrieg teil. Im Juni 1968 wurde sie Mitglied der Kommunistischen Partei der USA. Nach ihrer Inhaftierung in den Vereinigten Staaten wurden in der DDR, wie auch in anderen sozialistischen Ländern Osteuropas, mannigfaltige Solidaritäts-Kampagnen organisiert. Die »Angelamania«, wie es das TIME Magazine 1972 nannte, erinnerte an den Jubel Jugendlicher, als Davis nach der Haft am Flughafen Schönefeld oder bei den X. Weltfestspielen der Jugend 1973 zwischen DDR-Staatselite und Befreiungsbewegungen öffentlich auftrat.

In ihrer multimedialen Installation erinnert die in Halle geborene Künstlerin Elske Rosenfeld an die Dissidentin Erika Berthold, welche im Widerspruch zu den Claqueuren spontan Davis umarmte, um so die verklemmte Star-Bewunderung zu durchbrechen: Sozusagen »Völkerfreundschaft« gegen das Protokoll. Während sich die DDR als anti-rassistischer Staat profilierte und Davis zum Teil der eigenen Ikonografie machte, war Alltagsrassismus auch dort gegenwärtig. Rosenfelds Beitrag zur Dresdner Ausstellung »1 Million Rosen für Angela Davis« 2020/21 in der Kunsthalle im Lipsiusbau wird in der station urbaner kulturen in Kombination mit Fotografien aus der Reihe »Rote Fahne, DDR« (2011-2021) gezeigt: In Landschaften der Post-DDR inszenierte Stoffe, die nun auf Online-Plattformen zum Verkauf angeboten werden.

Elske Rosenfeld (*1974) forscht als Künstlerin und Autorin zum Verhältnis von Körper und Sprache in revolutionären Ereignissen, zur Geschichte von 1989/90 und zu Formen der Dissidenz. Ihre Arbeiten werden zeitgleich in der Ausstellung »… oder kann das weg? Fallstudien zur Nachwende« in der nGbK in Kreuzberg zu sehen sein. 2018 leitete sie gemeinsam mit Suza Husse/District Berlin das Projekt »Künstlerische Forschung im Archiv der DDR-Opposition«.

Der 1946 in Oxford, England geborene Fotograf Akinbode Akinbiyi pendelt zwischen den Metropolen Berlin und Lagos und weit darüber hinaus. In Ibadan, Lancaster und Heidelberg studierte Akinbiyi Literaturwissenschaft und Anglistik. Seit Jahrzehnten lebt er als Fotograf und Kurator in Berlin und erhielt 2016 in Weimar die renommierte Goethe-Medaille.

Im Zuge seiner urbanen Wanderungen sind die analog aufgenommenen Straßenfotografien (Street Photography‹) zu vielfältigen Werkgruppen und Einzelbeobachtungen angewachsen. Diese Arbeiten wurden unter anderem auf der documenta 14 in Kassel und Athen (2017), dem Gropiusbau in Berlin (2020) sowie auf internationalen Festivals gezeigt. Für die Ausstellung in der station urbaner kulturen wird er seine Wege von der ehemaligen Stalinallee über seinen aktuellen Berliner Wohnort in der Frankfurter Allee bis nach Hellersdorf mit einer analogen Mittelformatkamera festhalten und in Beziehung zu anderen Städten der Welt setzen.

Durch die physische Verbindung beider künstlerischer Positionen bietet sich die Gelegenheit zur Reflexion: Was bedeutete internationalistische Geschichte in der DDR und in welchem Verhältnis steht es zu kosmopolitischen Projektionen im heutigen Deutschland? Aus welchen Reibungskonstellationen entstehen künstlerische Beiträge im neuen Deutschland und wie ist das längst schon diverse Alltagsleben am Rande der Stadt anzusehen?

 

nGbK-Projektgruppe station urbaner kulturenJuan Camilo Alfonso Angulo, Jochen Becker, Fabian Bovens, Eva Hertzsch, Margarete Kiss, Constanze Musterer, Adam Page

 

Die station urbaner kulturen / nGbK Hellersdorf ist Teil der Initiative Urbane Praxis.



Im Rahmen der DRAUSSENSTADT gefördert von der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa

 

 

Partnerin der Berlin Art Week

      

 

 

Publikation

  
ISBN:

Weitere Termine

1Dienstag, 01 Dezember 2020Dienstag, 01. Dezember 2020
Besuch: Visit: station urbaner kulturen und Archiv
1Montag, 01 Februar 2021Montag, 01. Februar 2021
Forschung: Research project: Die Pampa lebt
27Freitag, 27 August 2021Freitag, 27. August 2021, 18:00 Uhr – 21:00 Uhr
Soft Opening: Soft Opening: Ausstellung »Gemeinsame Räume offenhalten«
18Samstag, 18 September 2021Samstag, 18. September 2021, 16:00 Uhr – 20:00 Uhr
Soft Opening: Soft Opening: Ausstellung
19Sonntag, 19 September 2021Sonntag, 19. September 2021, 14:00 Uhr – 18:00 Uhr
Ausstellung: Exhibition: geöffnet zur Berlin Art Week